Mistake 18: Be or stay?

In the following link you have a nice blog with a very good explanation about the different ways to express the idea of “quedarse” in English: http://miprofedeinglesvillajoyosa.wordpress.com/clases/quedar-vs-to-be-to-have-to-stay-etc/

But I’m going to focus on the difference between Stay/ Be as the question  appeared in class, and thus I’m copying the explanation here:

1- ‘to stay’ = hospedarse, es decir se usa para hablar de hospedarse en un sitio.

Q: Where did you stay while you were in Shrewsbury? A: I stayed with my cousin.

Q: Did you stay in the ‘Ritz’ when you were in London? A: No, I didn’t. I stayed in a ‘bed and breakfast’ in Earl’s Court.

2- ‘To stay’  = quedarse, permanecer, en el sentido de quedarse en un sitio sin irse a otro. In this sense, ‘to stay’ means the opposite of ‘to leave’.

Examples: I stayed in London for ten days.

She stayed at home all weekend.

I’m staying here a few more days, but then I’m leaving for Bristol.

Stay/wait here for a minute. I’ll be back.

Como mucha gente ha aprendido que stay debería traducirse como estar, cuando tienen que preguntar cosas como “Dónde estuviste?” lo intentan poner. Muy mal! Lo correcto es:

¿Dónde estuviste? = Where were you?

And finally, there are some useful expressions to memorise:

stay calm = mantener la calma

stay strong= sé fuerte

stay up = not go to bed (late at night) = no acostarse (y mantenerse despierto).

stay in = quedarse en casa

4 responses to “Mistake 18: Be or stay?

  1. Thakn you fo ryour kind comment and yes, you may copy the post for your own usage.

    However, re.:-
    “… I’m going to focus on the difference between Stay/ Be as the doubt* appeared in class, and thus I’m copying the explanation here:

    * I suggest you consider using “… as the QUESTION appeared …”.

    I hope this helps. Happy learning/teaching!

    Kind regards,
    Mark.

Leave a Reply

