Mistake 8: recommend

“Recommend” is a verb that uses different structures.  These are the common ones:

– Recommend + verb in gerund: I recommend reading the book

– Recommend sth to sb: I recommend the book to you.

– Recommend that + sentence: I recommend that you read the book. (‘that’ can be omitted in informal speech)

– Recommend + pronoun+ to: I recommed you to read the book.

2 responses to “Mistake 8: recommend

  1. Could you say ” I recommend the book to you” ?

    See you next week, today I have finished my substitution ( I don’t know if that is correct)

    • notdoubledutch

      Hi Ana! I’m happy to know you will be back although that means not working in that school…
      It is correct saying “I recommend the book to you” but not “I recommend you the book”, as we tend to say.
      Hope you enjoyed the substitution experience.
      CU soon!

Leave a Reply

