‘World peace’ hitcher is murdered

From BBC News:

Pippa Bacca/FotoUp)

An Italian woman artist who was hitch-hiking to the Middle East dressed as a bride to promote world peace has been found murdered in Turkey.

The naked body of Giuseppina Pasqualino di Marineo, 33, known as Pippa Bacca, was found in bushes near the city of Gebze on Friday.

She had said she wanted to show that she could put her trust in the kindness of local people.

Turkish police say they have detained a man in connection with the killing.

Reports say the man led the police to the body.

Autopsy

Ms di Marineo was hitch-hiking from Milan to Lebanon with a fellow artist on their “Brides on Tour” project.

They had separated in Istanbul, planning to reunite in Beirut.

map

Ms di Marineo was last seen on 31 March in Gebze.

An Italian embassy official told the Associated Press news agency police tracked the man when he put a new SIM card into Ms di Marineo’s mobile phone.

Local media identified the suspect only by the initials MK and said he had a previous conviction for theft.

Ms di Marineo’s sister, who had gone to Turkey to look for her, identified the body. An autopsy is being conducted in Istanbul.

“Her travels were for an artistic performance and to give a message of peace and of trust, but not everyone deserves trust,” another sister, Maria, told the Italian news agency, Ansa.

6 responses to “‘World peace’ hitcher is murdered

  1. Fernando Moya Domingo

    Hello, I think that unfortunately, that has happened too much. It´s the same that happened with Gandi, Jonh Lennon or Benazir Bhutto. I can´t understand how the murderer could do it, because she was promoting peace and I guess that she didn´t have too much to be stolen so simply I don´t understand it. Also It makes me feel good know that there are still people as Giuseppina Pasqualino di Marineo who believe in peace and hope and work for that. But maybe we have to accept that as her sister said, “not everyone deserves trust´´.

  2. Alfredo Mas Ortiz

    “Dicing with death”, it was my first thought when I read the piece of news, because it is a very rash for a woman who is travelling alone doing hitch-hiking to the Middle East, moreover dressing as a bride, but this fact show me that life in fact is more difficult for women than for men.
    I think that Giuseppina had too much courage putting her trust in the kindness of people but in my opinion nowadays is hardly impossible to trust somebody. Even if and thinking in her and in people who were died fighting for peace, from now on I am going to trust in people more than before although without dicing with death.

  3. In my opinion, unfortunately, this kind of news is very common nowadays. I don’t know if there are so much people who believe in kidness and trust; but it is clear that, as the society is nowadays, we shouldn’t trust people so easily.
    I was a bit shock when I read the news, as it is incredible that a person who is defending and promoting peace, is killed.
    I would like to read a newspaper someday and find all the news are good. But I know it is nearly impossible.

  4. For me this story is a very bad one. In my opinion Giuseppina tried to do her best against the intolerance in order to demand a world in peace.

    She was an artist indeed, she demanded for peace doing an artistic performance in the same way John Lennon did his famous song “Imagine”.

    It is a fact that we don’t live in a wonderful world when we can put our trust in the kindness of all the people, actually I trust but depending where you are you must be careful.

    It seems to me that she took a very dangerous trip and on the other hand perhaps it was just a sort of bad luck.

    Finally I want to say that I ´m very proud of Pippa Bacca.

  5. Sonia Martínez Pardo

    I hope that this world changes to better soon because it can’t go to worse. I don’t get why somebody will hurt someone who just want peace and doesn’t hurt anyone. The kind of people that kill because of nothing it make me sick. Thanks god that nowadays there’s still people who believe that someday we would get the wold peace, because without this people it would be impossible.
    I’m glad that Pippa believe in a better world and I too.

  6. MANOLO FERRER PARDO

    Hello, when I finished reading up this subject I felt really sad, because this is the sort of murder that nobody can understand.
    It seems that Pippa wasn’t doing anything wrong, what is more, she was only putting her trust in the people kidness and I think that she didn’t deserve being killed only for a handful of coins, or perhaps for a mobile phone. It is a nonsense, as many others that happens everyday and it is quite difficult to accustom oneself to hear about this kind of news.
    But unfortunately the world in which we are living is not a perfect world- injustice,hate,crime, despair and war-are all arround us, and this is the reason for Pippa and people like her, that believe in a better world, of working for it in different ways.
    For ending, I want to say that I’m absolutely proud of her.

Leave a Reply

